The Road is ON with Molly Mac (part 1)

Today’s post is the first of three written by artist Molly Mac, who will be your host/tour guide/performer for “How to get THERE (the Dam) from HERE (Seattle) with Molly Mac.”

I’m a 31 year old woman. I live in Seattle, and I drive a 1998 Camry.

The Grand Coulee Dam is a gravity dam. It is the largest electric power producing facility in the United States and it irrigates 671,000 acres of farmland in Washington.

yellow voice is my normal voice
green voice gives advice
blue voice tells facts
pink voice exposes (me)

This is a tour that runs from HERE (the Henry) to THERE (the Grand Coulee Dam):

QRS_COLOR

 

It’s looping, just like your mind (my mind) loops on a road trip.
Scan in with a QR code reader on your phone to catch a stop- there are 18 total.

I’ll explain everything.

&
you’ll see I have two heroes- the artist Eva Hesse and the Olympic swimmer Amanda Beard
&
you’ll see the inside of my Camry
&
you’ll see I’m concerned with electrolyte balance
&
you’ll see I’m trying to apply basic grammar lessons to glacial geography, shame, and my kidneys
&
you’ll see my Google search history
&
you’ll see circles crammed into squares (reduced to pixels)
&
you’ll see the practical driving directions
&
eventually you’ll see the Grand Coulee Dam.

MEdam4

And then you’ll actually drive there.
You should meet me at the Dam on August 2nd at 9:15pm to watch the official laser light show.

After the laser show, we’ll split up and stay overnight in local hotels/campgrounds. Then on August 3rd we’ll all get up, look at the Dam again, and eat bagels together. Then we will drive back from THERE (the Dam) to HERE (Seattle), doing the tour in reverse.

I’ll explain EVERYTHING again, but backwards — and I’ll have help. A team of performers will spread out along all 18 stops and explain:

the practical driving directions
&
the circles crammed into squares (reduced to pixels)
&
the Google search history
&
the grammar lessons applied to glacial geography, shame, and kidneys
&
the concern for electrolyte balance
&
the inside of the Camry
&
the heroes- artist Eva Hesse and the Olympic swimmer Amanda Beard

And then you’ll be back in Seattle.

FYI,

THIS IS THE ROUTE

 

The event is $10. Please book your ticket to receive a more detailed timeline and travel info, and because space is limited, and you’ll need to make a plan to camp and book a place to stay soon.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Road is ON with Molly Mac (part 1)

Leave a Reply

